What’s Principal Dancer Danielle Rowe listening to?

Guest Writer: Danielle Rowe, Principal Dancer

Danielle Rowe in company class Photo:Jim Caldwell

Music is an integral part of my every day life. As a ballet dancer it is my duty to enable the audience to not only hear the music but to also see the music through my movement.  When I am not performing or rehearsing, I listen to music for a number of different reasons- to relax, focus, feel energized or simply to escape. My taste is rather eclectic, ranging from Bach to the Black Eyed Peas.  I appreciate all types of music and marvel at it’s ability to transform my state of mind in a positive way.

Here are the first 10 songs that pop up on my iPod when I hit shuffle:
The Black Keys; “Tighten Up”
Ben Gibbard & Feist; “Train Song”
Emiliana Torrini; “Big Jumps”
Adele; “I’ll Be Waiting”
Jeff Buckley; “Last Goodbye”
Angus & Julia Stone; “Black Crow”
Lykke Li; “I’m Good, I’m Gone”
Bjork; “It’s Oh So Quiet”
Muse; “Uprising”
David Bowie; “Life On Mars?”

* You can see Danielle perform the role of Giselle on opening night: Thursday, September 22!

Leave a Reply

