Fond memories of dancing the funky chicken

Chickens from La Fille mal gardée
Artists of Houston Ballet in La Fille mal gardée. Photo by Amitava Sarkar.

 

Guest writer: Katie Arnold, public relations intern

As a former dance student with Houston Ballet, I have to say it is very exciting to return to my dance home as a public relations intern this summer. Houston Ballet was a great, creative environment as a dancer, and now I am learning more from this wonderful organization through my internship. I am very proud to be a Houston Ballet alumna. 

It is definitely interesting to be on the administrative side, rather than the dance side. When I heard that La Fille mal gardée was returning, I was ecstatic. This is one of my favorites, and I was actually in the ballet the last time the company performed it. I was one of the dancing chickens! You may think that dancing like a chicken is easy, but you would be surprised. Thankfully, I had the help of ballet master Steven Woodgate to prepare me and the other chicks for this very entertaining role.

For those Academy students who are performing the role of chicken these next two weekends, good luck and stay away from Widow Simone!

 -Katie

4 thoughts on “Fond memories of dancing the funky chicken

Leave a Reply

