A Very Special Audition Opportunity

Guest writer: Melissa Seuffert, public relations intern for Houston Ballet

Growing up as the granddaughter of a European ballerina who came to the U.S. and founded her own ballet company, I’ve had my fair share of Nutcracker experiences.  My most vivid memory was watching dress rehearsals with my grandmother.  It was always so magical seeing visions come to life, and every performance I see to this day captures me in a way that takes me back to my childhood.  I’ll admit it; dreams of being the Sugar Plum Fairy still manage to find their way into my head.

Imagine how excited I was to find out that this year, for the first time EVER, Houston Ballet is opening up auditions so young ballerinas can have the opportunity I missed – to dance in this year’s production of The Nutcracker as Mother Ginger’s clowns!  Head over to Houston Ballet’s studios (1921 W. Bell in River Oaks) on Saturday, September 26 at 3 PM ready to dance.  The audition is open to girls aged 10-12 who are no more than 4’10” in height and have had at least four years of ballet training.

Mother Ginger Clowns from The Nutcracker

Mother Ginger Clowns from Houston Ballet’s The Nutcracker. Photo by Jim Caldwell.

If you’d like more information about the auditions, contact Houston Ballet’s Ben Stevenson Academy at 713.535.3210.  If I were you – or your daughter, niece, granddaughter, you name it – I wouldn’t miss this chance to shine!  If only I’d had the chance to dance with the big wigs like these girls will, maybe this Houston Ballet intern wouldn’t be sitting at the computer, but dancing in the studios instead.

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

