My Debut as Clara

Katelyn MayGuest writer: Katelyn May, apprentice

It’s that time of year once again, the season of holiday cheer, and nothing rings in these wintry months like the time-honored tradition of The Nutcracker.  For years this ballet has been performed for families to spread the magic of the holidays and bring people together. 

From a dancer’s point of view, The Nutcracker is a performance in which they can push their limits and perform in roles that are challenging for them.  As a member of the company who started in the Houston Ballet Academy, it has been an interesting experience for me to perform in The Nutcracker.  From starting out as a rat and flying cook to dancing roles such as Flower, Snow, Clara and Mirlitons, The Nutcracker has a special place in my heart.  This year, The Nutcracker is indeed a challenge but it is also an exciting time in my life.  For two years I have watched Houston Ballet perform The Nutcracker, and I have always aspired to perform alongside the company in the premiere roles that this ballet provides.  Now I finally get that chance, and it is a very rewarding experience for me.

The Nutcracker is a ballet that will live forever and will always be special to me.  While the work may be tough and the days may feel long, I am thankful for all of my opportunities, and I am excited to ring in this holiday season as an employee of Houston Ballet.

-Katelyn

Leave a Reply

